Opinions on the 3.0

Newguy

May 23, 2021
In the market for a new truck. Currently driving a f150 5.0 and absolutely love it, but it's got a lot of miles and it's time for something new. With everything going on ford won't negotiate or take money off the price, so I'm switching to gm. I was unimpressed with the 5.3, and I really don't want to pay the extra for the 6.2, put premium in it, and still only average 18 mpg. Brings me to the diesel, which I am starting to love from the videos and information I'm finding about it online. Seems to be the real deal. But I want to hear your thoughts since you have first hand experience.

I live in a rural area and I am a remodeling contractor and will use this as a lighter duty runner truck, and a personal truck. I drive about 25k miles a year. It will tow 5-8k pounds for about 5-6k miles a year. Which my 5.0 (3.73 rear axle) had been doing fine for a long time. But I would imagine the 3.0 would pull the wheels off the 5.0. In my personal time I do a lot of hunting, fishing, camping, and driving. I pull a 4200 pound (empty) TT. So my two main concerns are this, the reliability of the 3.0 and the 3.23 rear axle. I understand the 10 speed will help this, but does it struggle to get off the line and up to speed with the kind of weight I'm towing? We have a 2018 chevy 5.3, max tow and 3.42 axle. It holds its gears well, but it can't get up to speed to save its life. That has been very annoying. Anybody towing this type of weight routinely with this set up?

I priced out an ltz which the dealer can get sooner than an rst. Sharp looking, smooth truck. Just wondering if you guys who have had these have any input on the towing or my driving use. I would think the diesel would be ideal. Let me know what you guys think, any input is appreciated. Thank you.

I wouldn't hesitate. Just beware, if you live in a cold climate, there are extra steps if you are new to the diesel world.